Nagpur district has an agrarian economy and the rural economy is inextricably woven with the district economy. The district has total geographical area of 9892 Out of these 644 th. hq. is cultivable area. The principle crops that are abundantly grown in the region include Sugarcane, Wheat, Soya bean, Pulses, Mung, Gram, Jowar, Bajra, Linseed, Cotton, Groundnut, Sunflower, Tur and others. The major plantations of Nagpur include citrus fruit, orange. Soya bean is considered to be the chief cash crop of Nagpur.

Season Main crops
Kharif Sugarcane, mung, soyabean
Rabi Gram, linseed

The Agriculture Produce Market Committees are located in Kalmana in Nagpur City.

1 Godown at Mkt Yard  Capacity 1000 MT
2 Godown at Butibori Capacity 1000 MT
3 Warehouse at Market Yard Capacity 3300 MT


The industries in the district are predominantly agriculture and engineering based. The existence of fabrication workshop, re-rolling mills, foundries, manufacturing of steel furniture, auto parts, machinery and machinery parts amply prove this point.

Industry at a Glance (2012-13):

Sr. No. Head Unit Particulars
1 Registered Industrial Units Number 10356
2 Total Industrial Unit Number 10356
3 Registered Medium and Large Units Number 213
4 Estimated Avg No of daily Workers employed in small scale industries Number 104421
5 Employment in large and medium industries Number 27594
6 No of industrial areas Number 12
7 Turnover of small scale industries Number in lakhs 901209
8 Turnover of medium and large scale industries Number in lakhs 58638

Forest produce

During the year 2005-2006 an estimated 2180 of area was under forest of the total area. Most of the land under forest can be found on the banks of Pench River, at the foot hills of Satpuda in Ramtek tahsil forest has been divided in 3 categories namely reserved, protected and unclassified. Major forest produce is timber wood and fuel wood. Minor forest produce comprises bamboo, tendu leaves and gum.

Types of Governance Structures

Name of Sub-division Name of Taluka in Sub-division
Nagpur Nagpur (City),Nagpur (Rural),Kamptee and Hingna
Umred Umred, Bhiwapur and Kuhi
Savner Savner and Kalameshwar
Ramtek Ramtek , Mouda and Parseoni
Katol Katol and Narkhed

Types of Governance Structures

For administrative purposes, Nagpur district has 5 sub-divisions viz. Nagpur, Umred, Savner, Ramtek and Katol. It has 14 talukas viz, Ramtek, Umred, Kalameshwar, Katol, Kamptee, Kuhi, Narkhed, Nagpur (Urban), Nagpur (Rural), Parseoni, Bhiwapur, Mouda, Savner and Hingna, with 13 Panchayat Samitis.

Type of Governance Structure Number Electoral Seats Place
Zilla Parishad 1 - -
Panchayat Samiti(s) 13 - -
Village Panchayat(s) 778 - -
Municipal Council 10 - Narkhed, Katol, Ramtek, Mowad, Saoner, Kamleshwar, Khapa, Umred, Kamptee, Mohpa
Municipal Corporation(s) 1 - Nagpur
Cantonment Board 1 - Kamptee

Parliamentary and Legislative Constituencies

Type Electoral Seats Name of Constituency
Vidhan Sabha   Nagpur South West, Nagpur South, Nagpur East, Nagpur Central, Nagpur North, Katol, Savner, Hingna, Umred, Kamthi and Ramtek.
Ramtek Lok Sabha   Savner, Hingna, Umred, Kamthi and Ramtek.
Nagpur Lok Sabha   Nagpur South West, Nagpur South, Nagpur East, Nagpur Central, Nagpur North, Katol,

The ancient name of Amravati is "Udumbravati", prakrut form of this is "Umbravati" and "Amravati" is known for many centuries with this name.

About Project

Get in touch

  • Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation Ltd
    Nepean Sea Road, Priyadarshini Park,
    Mumbai 400 036, Maharashtra, India.
  • 91 22 23685909,
    91 22 26517900,
    Fax: 91 22 26417893.