Ahmednagar is basically an agro-based district. About 46.47% of district population directly depends on agriculture and allied activity for their livelihood. Wheat is the main crops grown in the district. The other agriculture products in the district are Onion, Chilies, and Cotton. Jowar in the Rabbi season and Bajra, Groundnut & Mung in the Kharif season are the main crops of the district. Sugarcane is the important Cash crop too.

There are 14 Agriculture Produce Market Committees in the district, one in each taluka. There are 32 sub-yards of these APMCs. Apart from the regulated APMCs there are 193 Rural Haats7 in the district, which are, unregulated markets managed by the Gram Panchayats.

Season Main crops
Kharif Cotton, Maize, Bajra, Sugarcane, Soybean
Rabi Jowar, Wheat, Soybean and Pulses


Ahmednagar district has a variety of large and small scale industries. The district is the most sugar producing district in the state and is called the 'sugar bowl' of Maharashtra. Compared to private sector, the co-operatives and public sector have a very small part in total industrial ownership in the district. At present there are many small & medium scale, large scale and sugar industries.

There are few small scale industries which work in separating gains of rice from husk by pounding, oil mills, and gathering medicinal plants. Weaving cloth on handlooms and power looms, weaving rough blankets of sheep wool and bidi rolling are also carried out in this area.

The Jijamata Co-operative Sugar Factory at Dusarbid in the district is the first co-operative sugar factory set up in Vidharbha region. Late Baburao Deshmukh Co-operative Sugar Factory at Hinganghat and Mahatma Co-operative Sugar Factory at Jamani in Selu taluka are two other sugar factories. Maharashtra Explosives and Noble Explochem, which produce explosive chemicals, are situated in Selu taluka. Pulgaon has a chemical fertilizer factory. Industrial estates are established at Wardha, Arvi, Hinganghat and Pulgaon. Other industrial developments are as follows:

Types of Governance Structures

Name of Sub-division Name of Taluka in Sub-division
Ahmednagar Ahmednagar, Parner, Shevgaon, Pathardi
Karjat Karjat, Shrigonda, Jamkhed
Shrirampur Shrirampur, Newasa, Rahuri, Rahata
Sangamner Sangamner, Kopergaon, Akole

Types of Governance Structures

Type of Governance Structure Number Electoral Seats Place
Zilla Parishad - - -
Panchayat Samiti(s) 14 - -
Village Panchayat(s) 1311 - -
Municipal Council 8 - Pathardi, Rahta Pimplas, Kopargaon, Deolali Pravara, Rahuri, Sangamner, Shrigonda, Shrirampur
Municipal Corporation(s) 1 - Ahmednagar

Parliamentary and Legislative Constituencie

Type Electoral Seats Name of Constituency
Lok Sabha   Shirdi, Ahmednagar
Vidhan Sabha   Akole, Sangamner, Shirdi, Kopergaon, Shrirampur, Nevasa, Pathardi, Shevgaon, Rahuri, Parner, Ahmednagar City, Shrigonda, Karjat Jamkhed

Forest produce

The western hilly part of Ahmednagar district has forests. Teak, babul, dhavada, haldu and neem are trees found in these forests. Fruit trees like Mango, Tamrind, Amala, Bor are also found in the district.

The ancient name of Amravati is "Udumbravati", prakrut form of this is "Umbravati" and "Amravati" is known for many centuries with this name.

About Project

Get in touch

  • Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation Ltd
    Nepean Sea Road, Priyadarshini Park,
    Mumbai 400 036, Maharashtra, India.
  • 91 22 23685909,
    91 22 26517900,
    Fax: 91 22 26417893.